Tue
Jun 27 2017 2:00pm

5 Unusual Historical Best Bets for June 2017

What sort of “not-your-usual historical” are you looking for this month? 

Summer is in full swing, which means here in the United States we’re gearing up for our annual celebration of independence from England on July 4th.  Publishers must have gotten that memo. For fans of Westerns and American-set historical romance, June is proving to be a gift. But fans of Mother England shouldn’t fret. She makes an appearance in June as well.

Western!

A Touch of Frost by Jo Goodman

A Touch of Frost by Jo Goodman

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

After his train is robbed at gunpoint, Remington Frost awakens from a blow to find the bandits gone…along with the woman he was shadowing for protection. No stranger to risk, Remington will do what it takes to bring Phoebe Apple to safety and her kidnappers to justice. But ransoming Phoebe is just the start of trouble…

Phoebe is shocked to learn that her mysterious rescuer is none other than Remington Frost, the son of her sister’s new husband. Home at Twin Star Ranch, she falls happily into western life—and cautiously in love with Remington. But danger hides close to home, and their romance illuminates a web of secrets and betrayal that may put the rancher and his intended bride past the point of rescue.

Goodman is one of the finest practitioners of historical western romance, and this one has received the expected accolades.  Library Journal declares “A smart, resourceful heroine and a savvy, worthy hero drive the complex plot of this touching story; another winner,” and All About Romance granted it Desert Island Keeper status saying “it’s a feast for the heart and mind.”

Courting the Corporal by Heather McCorkle

Courting the Corporal by Heather McCorkle

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

The Civil War has ended, but for Corporal Patrick “Rick” Fergusson the battle rages on. Still haunted by what he witnessed on the battlefield, the earnest Irishman is heading west, seeking only to be free of the past. His services are in high demand; wealthy East Coasters in need of escort clamor to join him on the journey. But one client, a beautiful lady named Cat, disturbs Rick’s newfound equilibrium.

High society widow Catriona O’Brian is anxious to get to California, even if it means traveling with the handsome corporal who seems to dislike her so. Cat no longer seeks marriage; she has pinned all her hopes on making it to the west coast and starting her own winery. Between the elements, wild animals, and hostile natives, however, everything seems to be conspiring against her. Time and again, Rick comes to her rescue. And soon, the independent lass discovers that her biggest obstacle may be the longing of her own traitorous heart . . .

The second book in the author’s Emerald Belles series features a heroine determined to make a new life in California hiring a Civil War veteran suffering from PTSD as her guide.  RT Book Reviews says, “This is perfect for readers who love tackling difficult issues, Irish American history, and non-Regency settings.”

Colonial!

Once a Rebel by Mary Jo Putney

Once a Rebel by Mary Jo Putney

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

As Washington burns, Callista Brooke is trapped in the battle between her native England and her adopted homeland. She is on the verge of losing everything, including her life, when a handsome Englishman cuts through the violent crowd to claim that she is his. Callie falls into her protector's arms, recognizing that he is no stranger, but the boy she'd once loved, a lifetime ago.

Lord George Gordon Audley had been Callie’s best friend, and it was to Gordon she turned in desperation to avoid a loathsome arranged marriage. But the repercussions of his gallant attempt to rescue her sent Callie packing to Jamaica, and Gordon on a one way trip to the penal colony of Australia.

Against all odds, Gordon survived. Finding Callie is like reclaiming his tarnished soul, and once again he vows to do whatever is necessary to protect her and those she loves. But the innocent friendship they shared as children has become a dangerous passion that may save or destroy them when they challenge the aristocratic society that exiled them both . . .

A hardcover edition of Putney’s second book in her Rogues Redeemed series is out now, although the paperback and digital editions won’t be released until late August.  Yes, I’m well aware this is a tease, but a historical romance set during the War of 1812? And it’s a friends-to-lovers romance?! Be still my heart!

Rehabilitation!

Seducing Mr. Sykes by Maggie Robinson

Seducing Mr. Sykes by Maggie Robinson

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

No one at Puddling-on-the-Wold ever expected to see Sarah Marchmain enter through its doors. But after the legendary Lady’s eleventh-hour rejection of the man she was slated to marry, she was sent here to restore her reputation . . . and change her mind. It amused Sadie that her father, a duke, would use the last of his funds to lock her up in this fancy facility—she couldn’t be happier to be away from her loathsome family and have some time to herself. The last thing she needs is more romantic distraction . . .

As a local baronet’s son, Tristan Sykes is all too familiar with the spoiled, socialite residents of the Puddling Rehabilitation Foundation—no matter how real their problems may be. But all that changes when he encounters Sadie, a brave and brazen beauty who wants nothing more than to escape the life that’s been prescribed for her. If only Tristan could find a way to convince the Puddling powers-that-be that Sadie is unfit for release, he’d have a chance to explore the intense attraction that simmers between them—and prove himself fit to make her his bride . . .

Robinson continues her Cotswold Confidential series about a Victorian era rehab featuring a heroine essentially being punished by her father for spurning her intended groom.  Never mind that she’s quite happy to have a holiday (even if that’s not what Daddy intended!).

Texas Revolution!

Texas Conquest by Holly Castillo

Texas Conquest by Holly Castillo

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

From the moment Lorenzo Valdez saved Angie Torres from being crushed by an angry mule, he knew she was trouble. Having rolled her out of harm's way, he can't deny that he is intrigued by the soft, delicate woman, especially when she races away without telling him her name. 

Angie serves as a spy to the Texians, aiding them in the Texas Revolution. Her desire for the enemy soldier's arms around her goes against everything she has been fighting for. However, their fate is intertwined and they are forced to work together. 

While Angie tries to protect her heart, Lorenzo must overcome his own demons. With the Texians on the verge of attacking San Antonio, Angie and Lorenzo have to fight not only for their right to love one another, but also for their lives and the future of Texas.

Castillo’s debut is the first book in her Texas Legacy series and she was inspired to write about the Texas Revolution after working just blocks from The Alamo. Tule Publishing is quickly releasing book two in the series, Texas Destiny, in early August. 


H&H Editor Picks:

16 Audiobook Narrators You’ll Have a Crush on by the End of this Post

If You Like Julie Garwood, Try Mary Wine’s Highland Hellion

June 2017 Romance New Releases

 

 

 

 

 


Wendy the Super Librarian also blogs at WendyTheSuperLibrarian.blogspot.com. So dig that library card out of your pocket and head for the stacks. 

Subscribe to this conversation (must be logged in):
4 comments
Maggie Robinson
1. Maggie Robinson
Thanks so much for including Seducing Mr. Sykes!
Maggie Robinson
2. nikkiphilton
I'm looking forward to A Touch of Frost. Goodman never fails to satisfy. Great reviews!
Kareni
3. Kareni
I brought home A Touch of Frost by Jo Goodman from the library today and am looking forward to reading it. There are some other enticing choices in this column!
Wendy the Super Librarian
4. SuperWendy
Maggie: You kept this post from being USA! USA! USA! (LOL!)

Nikki & Karen: I know England fans probably miss Goodman, but I'm so happy she's been working in Westerns for the last several years!
Post a comment