Mon
May 8 2017 8:30am

7 Books to Read If You Love the Show Hunted

Hunted on CBS

I watched a new reality TV show earlier this year, Hunted. It was a competition where a team of two “average” citizens went on the run and tried to evade capture by a cadre of highly skilled investigators and law enforcement agents. It was a ton of fun to watch.  After only the first episode, I was firmly entrenched in the #TeamHunter. I didn’t want anyone to beat them and claim the prize money! (I won’t spoil it in case anyone wants to watch.)

I also couldn’t stop pairing off the cast on the hunter side. You had alphas—both male and female—alongside cyber and intelligence analysts wearing bowties or sporting undercuts and then the teams out on the road chasing down the fugitives. Some of them had cool names like Shadow or Griff. I mean, it was a romantic suspense author’s dream cast!

Fun fact: author Myke Cole served as a cyber intelligence agent on the show. He wore black a lot and has a romance-hero worthy beard. 

So while I was jotting down plot bunny after plot bunny and which two Hunters I thought would make an interesting couple, I thought about some of my favorite romance novels that fit this mold. Here are a few suggestions to get you started.

One Minute to Midnight by Nico Rosso

One Minute to Midnight by Nico Rosso

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

Oh man, this series! It’s a must read! This story is the second book in Rosso’s Black Ops: Automatik series WHICH YOU SHOULD DEFINITELY READ.  This story features just what I imagined while watching Hunted—two badass people who work together and can’t fight the attraction. Ben is a former SEAL and Mary is a cool-as-ice sniper. Until they’re dispatched to a town where gunrunners are causing trouble and they’re cover as a couple of flirtatious strangers in a hotel bar makes things complicated. And by complicated, I mean hot and heavy.

In Rides Trouble by Julie Ann Walker

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

In Rides Trouble is the second book in Walker’s Black Knights Inc. series about a group of ex-military members who are now part of a black ops team. They use a specialty motorcycle shop as their cover. Let’s face it, I really don’t need to say more, do I?  Becky owns the shop where Black Knight Inc. runs their clandestine activities out of and Frank is the head honcho ex-Navy SEAL in charge. When Becky gets in the crosshairs of a Somali pirate, Frank is on the case.

Wild Card Undercover by Kari Lemor

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

Undercover FBI agent Chris Shaunessy is after crime boss Salazar Moreno in Miami. He finds help through Meg, a waitress at the club owned by Salazar, who is working off a debt her ex-boyfriend owes. They pose as lovers so Chris can get closer to his prey. If you like your LEO to be of the white knight variety, this book is right up your alley! Chris fights his real feelings and attraction to Meg pretty much from the get go and it doesn’t take long for his protective side to kick into high gear. Fun and sexy read from debut author Kari Lemor.

Risking It All by Tessa Bailey

Risking It All by Tessa Bailey

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

Sera is an NYPD detective who goes deep undercover into an organized crime family to avenge her brother’s death. Bowen didn’t want to take over the “family business” but when his father goes to prison, he has no choice. Then he’s blackmailed into helping the police but keeping it a secret from Sera. Oh boy, there’s a lot of intrigue going on here! This one tickles my fancy when I was imagining if one of the hunters fell for the fugitive. I mean, it could happen!

Wild Man by Kristen Ashley

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

I'd have to comb through all my posts to be sure but I don’t think I’ve ever NOT included a Kristen Ashley story. I guess she’s my jam! Wild Man is part of the cracktastic Dream Man series. It features Brock, an undercover DEA agent who’s investigating our heroine, Tara, who likes to bake but who also happens to formerly have been married to a drug dealer. In true KA fashion, Brock is an uber alpha. He would totally fit in with the Hunted crew. I can see him chasing down the fugitives in his black Suburban with tinted windows.

Hard to Let Go by Laura Kaye

(Amazon | B&N | Kobo)

Hard to Let Go is part of Kaye’s Hard Ink series. The series focuses on former Special Forces soldiers who are on a mission to clear their name after being forced out of the military with their reputations in a shambles because of illegal dealings from their commander.  Beckett Murda and Katherine (Kat) Rixey cross paths when Kat discovers that her brother and his team are at war with the criminals she’s trying to prosecute. Lawyers in suits and military heroes in as little as possible are like catnip to me.

What are some of your favorite romantic suspense novels that feature military or ex-military? 


H&H Editor Picks:

What to Pack for a Romantic Suspense Road Trip

26 Romances You Won’t Want to Miss!

May 2017 Romance New Releases

 

 

 

 

 


Story lover. Genetically gifted with red hair and a quick wit. Find me on Twitter: @Phoebe_Chase

Subscribe to this conversation (must be logged in):
1 comment
PhoebeChase
1. PhoebeChase
I'm just gonna sit here and stare at the ONE MINUTE TO MIDNIGHT cover.
Post a comment