Sun
Apr 26 2015 10:00am

First Look: Tracy Wolff’s Exposed (May 5, 2015)

Exposed by Tracy Wolff

Tracy Wolff
Exposed (Ethan Frost #3) 
Random House / May 5, 2015 / $4.99 digital

Ethan Frost, the irresistible leading man from the New York Times bestselling Ruined and Addicted, returns once again in Exposed—a novel that’s perfect for fans of J. Kenner and Sylvia Day.
 ***
Will Ethan Frost go too far for the woman he loves?

The moment Chloe Girard walked into my life, she exposed secrets and emotions I always thought were best kept buried.

She wants to move on, to ignore the past. But I can’t do that. Not when she still suffers. And not when the man who hurt her remains unscathed. So when I discover the perfect opportunity to make him pay for what he did to Chloe, I can’t walk away, no matter the consequences.

But there’s a fine line between justice and obsession. As I turn up old crimes and new lies, I know that I’m playing with fire—and risking the very foundations of our relationship.

My love for Chloe is absolute. I just hope it’s enough to save us both.

Exposed is the third book in Tracy Wolff’s Ethan Frost series and it has all the ingredients that make the first two books so addicting: a humanitarian, sexy, wealthy alpha male; a courageous and intelligent heroine; conflict from the past that infiltrates the present; a sticky web of interrelationships; and steamy scenes. But even more than that, what I crave is growth in a relationship. I am pleased to say that Exposed did not let me down in this regard.

From the start of the series, Chloe Girard and Ethan Frost have their share of turbulence as they learn to navigate their relationship. Trust and open communication are areas that have hindered their relationship in the past, causing misunderstanding and frustration. However, by book three, Chloe and Ethan finally are walking the talk and being more open with one another. In addition, they both are learning how to compromise. As fragile as their pairing has been in the past, both finally seem committed to making their relationship work.

We’re back together, but trust is a long road, one that for us has had its share of potholes. That most of those potholes were my fault is a truth that weighs heavy on my shoulders…I bend my head, brush my mouth across hers. I mean it to be just a light peck, but the moment our lips meet, I’m lost. I had to live too many days without her and I’m not ready to let her go yet. Not ready to be without her again, even as past hurts loom dark between us.

Chloe also recognizes how imperative it is to have honesty in their relationship.

“No more lies. I can take anything else. I can take Brandon, your mother, even the media scandal if my disaster of a past leaks. But you can’t lie to me again. Not if we have any chance of building a future together.”

The words fall into the growing chasm between us.

I know she’s right. And I don’t want to lie to her. I’ve never wanted to lie to her. But she’s fragile right now, her world shaken by the reappearance of my asshole brother, and the last thing I want to do is cause her more upset. More pain.

What I love most is that the Chloe of previous books is more mature in this book. She isn’t so quick to run from her fears anytime something becomes too painful or difficult to handle. This is a Chloe that is learning her worth and taking risks with Ethan. Which means her voice is strong and resonates.

“No,” she interrupts, sounding anything but fragile. Anything but weak. “This is a deal breaker, Ethan. I’ve spent too many years of my life lying and being lied to. I won’t do it anymore. Won’t duck my head and pretend because it’s easier for everyone involved. And I won’t let you do it, either. If you want us to be together, to stay together, if you want me to fly to Vegas and marry you in a few hours, then you need to tell me the truth.”

As Chloe’s character develops, Ethan’s does as well. He is more introspective and honest with himself about his feelings for Chloe, analyzing his actions over the past year. Which leads us to believe that perhaps this tumultuous relationship actually has a chance of success. Because both Chloe and Ethan are willing to make compromises.

That she’s willing to let me do that - to open her up to the world’s scrutiny and trust me to take care of her through it all - means everything to me.

Just like the fact that I’m willing to step back on the Brandon thing means everything to her…

So far Chloe and I are rocking the compromise portion of the equation. And I’m working my ass off to get the communication half down, too. She’s left me twice because I couldn’t talk to her, or because I wouldn’t listen. No way in hell is it happening a third time.

Yes, compromise. It’s definitely the way to go.

Much is resolved in this installment of the Ethan Frost series and fans should be temporarily sated. Unfortunately, there is yet another installment still to be written, for which we all must patiently await.

***

Learn more about or pre-order a copy of Exposed by Tracy Wolff, available May 5, 2015:

Buy at Amazon

Buy at B&N

Buy at iTunes

 

 


Tanya is a fanatic of all things romance and teaches sociology part time. You can follow her on twitter @tamushamu.

Subscribe to this conversation (must be logged in):
2 comments
RHYLL
1. RHYLL
Oh man, that is the tastiest cover I've seen in a while. Schwing!
Jennifer Proffitt
2. JenniferProffitt
@Rhyll, the model's face kind of reminds me of New Girl's Nick Miller...if Nick Miller was ripped.
Post a comment