Thu
Mar 13 2014 1:00pm

Time Travel, Highlanders, History, and More: What to Read After Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander

Outlander by Diana GabaldonJamie + Claire + hot sex + time travel + Scotland + botany + obsession + spankings + Scots dialect + a lot of red hair + 800+ pages = Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. Where to begin?

Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series includes so many disparate elements it's nearly impossible to find any one book that is similar to it. Since it is so popular (and we can't wait until the series premieres on Starz this summer), we thought we'd analyze Outlander's elements, and make recommendations for further reading, depending on what element is your favorite.

First, we offer suggestions of two books that include many of the elements, which two of H&H's Outlander fans, Anna Bowling and Aniko Nagy, both recommend. It's Sara Donati's Into the Wilderness series, an “American colonial era saga, but Jamie and Claire actually make a cameo in one of the books.” (Donati and Gabaldon are friends).

Charli Mac offers, “Paulina Simmons's epic trilogy of The Bronze Horsemen, also known as Alexander and Tatiana. They survive WWII ravaged Leningrad, POW camps, and anti-communist McCarthy era US. Its a sweeping love story with the backdrop of war, politics, and the deep wounds within us all. It's brilliant!”

Then there are the separate elements:

Rogue with a Brogue by Suzanne EnochScotland-set romances

  • Suzanne Enoch's Scandalous Highlanders
  • Kinley MacGregor's Brotherhood/MacAllister series
  • Karen Marie Moning's Highlanders series
  • Julianne MacLean's Highlander trilogy
  • Anita Clenney's Connor Clan
  • Marsha Canham's Highlands series

Time travel romances

  • Jude Devereaux's A Knight in Shining Armor
  • Karen Marie Moning's Highlanders series*
  • Nora Roberts's Circle trilogy
  • Anita Clenney's Connor Clan series*

Virgin heroes

  • Kinley MacGregor's Born in Sin* (in the Brotherhood/MacAllister series)
  • Courtney Milan's Unclaimed
  • Jessica Clare's Beauty and the Billionaire

Concealed in Death by J.D. RobbAlpha males who aren't alphaholes

  • Roarke from J.D. Robb's In Death series
  • Adam Hauptmann from Patricia Briggs's Mercy Thompson series
  • Brody Brown from Lauren Dane's Coming Undone
  • Dallas O'Kane from Kit Rocha's Beyond Control

Historical fiction novels

  • Philippa Gregory's Tudor Court series
  • Anything Bernard Cornwell has written
  • Colleen McCullough's The Thorn Birds
  • Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey/Maturin series

What books would you recommend for Outlander fans?

*appears on more than one list

Subscribe to this conversation (must be logged in):
Individual - You will receive an alert for each comment added to this post.
Digest - You will receive an end-of-day alert for all comments added to this post.
8 comments
Sandra Schwab
1. Sandra Schwab
Which books would I recommend for Outlander fans? That's easy: the KILGANNON books by the wonderful Kathleen Givens. The two Kilgannon novels were sold as historical romance; the hero is Scottish and the heroine English, and the historical background is the Jacobite rising in 1715.
Sandra Schwab
2. RRuinsky
I have to recommend "Into the Scottish Mist" by Beth Anne Miller. A Scottish time travel romance that is excellent. If you loved the Outlander series you'll love this book.
Sandra Schwab
3. CarrieB
For time traveling historical fiction I would recommend Deborah Harkness' All Souls Trilogy (A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night, Book of Life)

For magical historical fiction, I would recommend Susanna Kearsley's The Winter Sea and The Firebird
Sandra Schwab
4. KayL
Recommend a historical fiction, "The Pirate Captain, Chronicles of a Legend by Kerry Lynne, "Cate" loses her husband in the Jacobite Rising a fugtive herself 5 years later flees England (1753) & is kidnapped "mistaken identify" by Cap'n Blackthorne; one woman, a pirate captain & 200 men. OMG what a ending, a series next book release this summer.
Sandra Schwab
5. Joyce C
I would reccomend a historical series by Sara Donati. And to my surprise, she references Jamie & Clare in one of the books.
Into the Wilderness
Dawn on a Distant Shore
Lake in the Clouds
Fire Along the Sky
Queen of Swords
The Endless Forest
Sandra Schwab
6. CindyL
Joyce C has got it right. The series by Sara Donati is excellent, and yes, I loved the Jamie and Claire reference. Too bad the authors can't collaborate and cross up the characters a little bit more.
I am not a fan of authors trying to imitate Diana Gabaldon's books; books set in other locales are much more authentic. When all is said and done, nobody really compares to DG's writing!
Sandra Schwab
7. pat flannery
I just finished, "Green Darkness". by Anya Seton. Wow, it was a great read!
Ruth Goldstein
8. ruthgold18
Just wanted to correct a statement on this blog - that Donati and Gabaldon are friends - they are/were not. At the time that Ms. Donati was writing Into the Wilderness, she was also a member on Compuserve and happened to realize that, in this instance, Jamie & Claire were 'going to be there'. Diana gave Sara Donati permission to mention J&C in a scene surrounding the Battle of Saratoga, but that was it. Diana also kindly gave Sara a 'sound bite' when Into the Wilderness was published.
Post a comment