Fri
Mar 23 2012 6:37pm

After the Games: What to Read After Watching The Hunger Games

The Hunt by Andrew FukudaHooray, hooray, The Hunger Games movie is finally here! Fellow staffer Christopher Morgan and I saw it this morning, and I have to say, we were pretty impressed. In fact, I think we both came out of the theater way more excited about it than we had been going in.

That said, if you’re like us, you’re already wondering: What’s next?! After all, it will be months before we get another Katniss & co. fix with the next movie, Catching Fire, which is set to hit theaters on November 22, 2013.

Well, here are a few Hunger Games-esque books we’ve either already read and loved or are looking forward to getting our hot little hands on soon:

  • The Hunt (out May 8, 2012) by Andrew Fukuda (Read the first 80 pages on Facebook — you just have to like the page!)
  • Divergent (out now) and Insurgent (out May 1) by Veronica Roth (Read an excerpt from Chapter 2!)
  • Enclave by Ann Aguirre
  • Legend by Marie Lu
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  • All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin
  • Blood Red Road by Moira Young

And if nothing will do but more of The Hunger Games (believe me, I know the feeling), there’s always The Hunger Games Companion by Lois H. Gresh, The Girl Who Was on Fire edited by Leah Wilson, The Hunger Games Tribute Guide by Emily Seife, The World of the Hunger Games by Kate Egan, and more.

How about you? Do these recs hit the spot? Can you think of any other books a fellow fan might enjoy? My list is all YA—are there Hunger Games-like romance novels we should be reading too?

Subscribe to this conversation (must be logged in):
Individual - You will receive an alert for each comment added to this post.
Digest - You will receive an end-of-day alert for all comments added to this post.
8 comments
Vanessa Ouadi
1. Lafka
Not YA but definitely a must-read if you seek further exploration of kids-killing-kids dystopia : Koushun Takami's Battle Royale. Basically, in a totalitarian State, a class of teens is brought to an island, collared with explosive tracking system, given a bag with a little bit of supplies and a random weapon (from fork to Uzi), and forced to kill each other until only one survivor stands.
More violent than Hunger Games, and less focused on relationships between characters, but rather on how extreme fear and past experiences can have a regular kid commit the worst. Very different treatment of a rather similar topic :-)

I haven't read any of the books mentionned in the article, thanks for the suggestions!
Laura Toth
2. lanchid
GONE by Michael Grant. It's the first in a six book series about a small fictional town in CA where one day, everyone over the age of 15 disappears. I just discovered this series and have become completely obsessed. Great characters, great interactions between them (Edilio has become my new fave!), and really horrifying events. Um..assuming that last one can be considered a selling point. :-)
aculver1
3. aculver1
Matched by Ally Condie and the second one Crossed. Similar idea of the dystopia society where the government tells everyone what the roll is, who they marry, and when you die. The main character Cassie believes she is to marry her best friend but another is chosen before the screen goes blank. Now she has a choice to make. The story focuses more on the relationship and the roll of the government.
aculver1
4. Darlynne
I'm a huge fan of Divergent and Blood Red Road, so I'm thrilled to see the recs here and Enclave is in my TBR pile. Both books began with heroines I didn't particularly care for, especially BRR, but the author won me over in each case and I'm eager to see where we go from here.
Dawn Roberto
5. dawn_roberto
Loved Enclave and have Divergent on my reading wish list. Added some of theo others as well. Thanks for the list.
Bella Franco
6. BeguileThySorrow
With the exception of The Hunt, I've read all of the books on your list and liked them all except Divergent. Really looking forward to getting The Hunt though, I've heard it's very good.
Anagha
7. anaavu
Blood Red Road and Legend are fantastic recommendations! pretty spot-on. One you guys missed is Ashes by Ilsa J Bick. It's pretty violent and gory too, I just loved it!
aculver1
8. Moonlaura
Poison Princess by Kresley Cole
Post a comment